David’s Tea / 24 Days of Tea / 2013 / day 2

Well, it finally stopped snowing here and I am just about to make my December 3rd tea! The kettle is on and I’ve hunkered down in front of the TV with my fiance to watch The Voice as the cat naps by the fireplace. Oh and to write in my blog!

But before we get to today’s tea (you will get that post tomorrow!), let’s take a look at what window #2 had in store for us.

day 2: alpine punch

day 2: alpine punch

Day 2: Alpine Punch – Rooibos

HIGH ALTITUDE TASTE / Have you heard of the barbegazi? According to Swiss lore, they are a group of furry little men that live high in the Alps. They are known for their long, icy beards and enormous feet, which they use to ski down hills and surf on avalanches. But how do they stay warm up in the frozen mountains all year round? We like to think it’s with a fortifying brew like this almond-scented rooibos, with apple, cinnamon, and ginger. If you see some very big footprints next time you’re out hiking, follow them to the barbegazi’s cave and see if they offer you a cup. Limited edition. (from davidstea.com)

Ingredients: Rooibos, coconut chips and rasps, apple pieces, cinnamon pieces, ginger bits, cardamom, black pepper, rose blossoms, almond flakes, artificial flavouring. Allergens: Tree nuts, coconut.

alpine punch prep directions

alpine punch prep directions

Liv’s Thoughts

A co-worker highly recommended this tea. When he first mentioned it, I thought it sounded familiar. Then I realized that it was the tea I wanted to try last holiday season but was sold out completely!

So this year, I knew I had to get some if it returned. And it did so I was happy. 🙂

The first time I tried this tea, I was at work and as it was steeping an instant message from a colleague regarding a project popped up on my screen. I don’t remember what it was about but it took my attention away from my tea. By the time I remembered it, I over-steeped it and I really didn’t like it because it was too strong.

After that first steep, I learned my lesson. I now steep it for the minimum amount of time and it was much better!

Yesterday when I brought the little tin from my advent calendar to work, I knew I had a 50g bag of this tea in my cabinet. But I HAD to use the tin. It’s just the principle of it. It’s 24 days of tea so I will make tea from each tin!

I will admit that I’m not a huge fan of rooibos teas. This is one of the very rare exceptions. I do like this tea but it’s not my favorite. I like the coconut and the almond taste. I usually stock up on my favorites (like Pumpkin Chai and Mom’s Apple Pie!) but I’m not sure if I will once my mini tin and 50g bag is done.

How was your cup of Alpine Punch? Share your thoughts as I’d love to know what you think!

And if you are around my neck of the woods, stay warm and stay safe!

davidstea_day2_3davidstea_day2_4

2 thoughts on “David’s Tea / 24 Days of Tea / 2013 / day 2

Leave a Reply

